R.E.M. Reissuing Up for 25th Anniversary, Share Unreleased Live Song: Listen

The unearthed version of “Daysleeper” is part of an 11-song set they played, impromptu, while filming a guest appearance on the teen drama Party of Five
R.E.M. in suits in a futuristic control room
R.E.M., photo by Patrik Andersson

R.E.M. will reissue their 1998 LP, Up, on November 10 for its 25th anniversary, via Craft. The remastered record comes with an 11-song live album of R.E.M.’s impromptu set at Los Angeles’ Palace Theatre in 1999, where they were supposed to be filming a brief guest appearance on the teen drama Party of Five. Listen to “Daysleeper” from the show below.

The reissue comes in a 2xCD/1xBlu-ray format featuring a six-song session in a London studio in the Up era, as well as the music videos. That edition also includes a 32-page book with a Josh Modell essay based on new interviews with the band. The remastered album, overseen by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, is also coming out in vinyl and 2xCD formats, with the Party of Five live album included on the latter. Check out the tracklist below.

Read “Michael Stipe on the Music That Made Him.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

R.E.M.: Up (25th Anniversary Edition)

Up (25th Anniversary Edition):

01 Airportman
02 Lotus
03 Suspicion
04 Hope
05 At My Most Beautiful
06 The Apologist
07 Sad Professor
08 You’re in the Air
09 Walk Unafraid
10 Why Not Smile
11 Daysleeper (Remastered 2023)
12 Diminished
13 Parakeet
14 Falls to Climb

01 Introduction (Live at the Palace / 1999)
02 What’s the Frequency, Kenneth? (Live at the Palace / 1999)
03 Lotus (Live at the Palace / 1999)
04 Daysleeper (Live at the Palace / 1999)
05 Country Feedback (Live at the Palace / 1999)
06 Walk Unafraid (Live at the Palace / 1999)
07 Losing My Religion (Live at the Palace / 1999)
08 Parakeet (Live at the Palace / 1999)
09 The Apologist (Live at the Palace / 1999)
10 It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine) (Live at the Palace / 1999)
11 I’m Not Over You (Live at the Palace / 1999)
12 Man on the Moon (Live at the Palace / 1999)