Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album Javelin, Shares New Song: Listen

The solo studio LP is billed as Stevens’ first true singer-songwriter album since Carrie & Lowell
Sufjan Stevens
Photo courtesy of Sufjan Stevens

Sufjan Stevens has announced a new album: Javelin is out October 6 via Asthmatic Kitty. “So You Are Tired” arrives as the first single from the album, and you can check it out with the rest of Javelin’s tracklist below.

Javelin is Stevens’ first traditional solo LP since 2020’s The Ascension and, according to a press release, it’s his first true singer-songwriter album since Carrie & Lowell. He made the new record with friends—Adrienne Maree Brown, Hannah Cohen, Pauline Delassus, Megan Lui, and Nedelle Torrisi—and the National’s Bryce Dessner, who played acoustic and electric guitar for “Shit Talk.”

Stevens made a book of art and essays to go with the new album, too. The 48-page collection features collages and 10 essays. The musician also designed the new record’s cover artwork.

Earlier this year, Stevens released the ballet soundtrack album Reflections. In recent years, he’s also shared the totemic instrumental collection Convocations and collaborated with Angelo De Augustine on A Beginner’s Mind.

Stevens’ Illinois was recently adapted into a stage show. Read “What to Expect From the Stage Adaptation of Sufjan Stevens’ Illinois” on the Pitch.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Sufjan Stevens: Javelin


01 Goodbye Evergreen
02 A Running Start
03 Will Anybody Ever Love Me?
04 Everything That Rises
05 Genuflecting Ghost
06 My Red Little Fox
07 So You Are Tired
08 Javelin (To Have and to Hold)
09 Shit Talk
10 There’s a World